Bragging Bride

Y’all, I just have to brag on my sweet groom for a minute. Sometimes I think we get so caught up in the day-to-day that we overlook some of the qualities that made us fall in love in the first place. I was reminded this week, that one of my husband-to-be’s greatest qualities is his generosity. Throughout the year we volunteer with different groups, make conscious decisions to run races that support causes close to our heart (Get Your Rear in Gear!) and make donations as well. But for the past two years, he has chosen to sponsor a teenager from a home for special needs children and to buy them exactly what they want for Christmas. It’s that exactness that makes my heart swell with love for him.

Last year, the teenager wanted new jeans and an NFL jersey. The catch: he needed a size 52 in the jeans and an XXXX-L jersey to match. Well, my beau didn’t just go pick out any ol’ jeans for this kid. He searched high and low until he found stylish size 52 jeans and found the perfect jersey for him as well. It just really made my heart smile that he would do that for a complete stranger and put so much effort into making sure it was exactly what he wanted.

This year, the kid wanted a sweat suit and Timberland boots. He bought him a nice Nike sweat suit (totally in right now for teens!). After we looked for the boots, we started thinking that they might have put down the wrong size for the kid (size 3 for a teenager???). So, the bf had a dilemma. On Wednesday, he asked me to take the present to work for him and there was only one box. I asked what he decided to do about the boots and he told me he got the kid a gift card. For $100 so he could make sure he got the boots he wanted.  Heart. Smile.

I just love him. He is such a caring, generous, sweet man and I am so lucky that I am going to get to spend the rest of my life with him.

This post got me thinking of simple acts of kindness I can do over the holiday season… how do you make the holidays bright for others?

One thought on “Bragging Bride

  1. That’s my boy and your hubby-to-be. Thanks for sharing such a sweet story about him. I’m a lucky mom and a fortunate mother-in-law to be.

Leave a comment