GuyDay Friday [PieDay]

When we went to Key West in January, I fell in love with chocolate-dipped key lime pie on a stick. Ha, you’re drooling now, right? Me too. It’s seriously as delicious as it sounds – or maybe even better. Upon returning home, I found that Kermit’s Key Lime Pie Shoppe will ship 12 of these heaven-on-a-stick treats to you… for a price: $79 + overnight shipping. I weighed this in my mind as the thought of having 12 of them in my hands was amazing but HOLY COW, that’s a lot of money for some pie.

10922354_10101168804857803_4745734969447245342_o

So, instead of splurging on a shipment of heaven-on-a-stick, I decided to make my own. Easy, peasy, right? Well, kind of. I got a recipe from The Food Network and altered it to be dark chocolate. Also, I found it to be a little unclear on what kind of bowl exactly to use to melt the chocolate (I’m thinking for the average person, you don’t just have large bowls that fit over top of pots of boiling water). I used a glass mixing bowl and it didn’t break. Not saying that’s the best option but it was what I had to work with and the outcome was pretty good  (and tasty).

IMG_9267

Ingredients:

  • 1 Frozen Key Lime Pie (or, make your own pie and freeze it)
  • Popsicle sticks (I suggest Michaels or SuperTarget to find these)
  • Two 16 oz. bags of dark chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips (or one of each)
  • Empty large yogurt container or something similar (should be deep and not too wide)
  • Wax paper
  • Heat safe bowl (think silicon or ceramic)
  • Rubber spatula

Directions:

  • Freeze the pie if not already frozen
  • Cut pie into even slices (recipe called for 10, I got 8)
  • Insert popsicle stick into crust and about 1/2 way into pie slice (be gentle so as not to crumble the crust)
  • FREEZE until rock hard (this may require making your freezer colder for a little bit!)
  • Bring a pot of water to boil and place a heat-safe bowl over top of the pot (try this bowl!) without touching water
  • Once water is boiling, turn off heat and place 2/3 chocolate chips in bowl and stir with rubber spatula until melted
  • Once melted, remove bowl from pot and stir in other 1/3 of chips until melted (may need to use a hand mixer)
  • Pour chocolate into empty (clean) yogurt container
  • Dip each piece of pie into the container getting a thin labor of chocolate all over (thin is key!)
  • Place pie slices on wax paper to dry and then return to freezer once chocolate has hardened
  • Serve on a hot, summer day (or a cool winter day when you want the taste of summer)

IMG_9302

Lessons learned: My chocolate was far too thick on the pie slices, causing it to be difficult to bite into and then requiring us to use forks. If you think there’s excess chocolate on the pie, use a rubber spatula to remove before cooling. Otherwise? It was absolutely delicious and I will 100% be making these again. I would recommend pie without whipped cream so that you can dip the WHOLE slice of pie. I didn’t use the yogurt container so my bowl wasn’t deep enough to get the whole slice.

I have a feeling I will one day order Kermit’s Key Lime Pie bars and have them specially delivered; but for now, this recipe is about $70 cheaper and pretty close to being the same. Definitely worth giving it a shot. I shared with my friend who has two kids (4 and 2) and thought they would love to make these – and eat them. Happy Pie Day!

Leave a Reply

