Fatsgiving

With Thanksgiving coming up next week, I figured it’s only appropriate to talk about favorite foods for Thanksgiving dinner. My personal favorite is anything sweet potato, and preferably with marshmallows. I also have become a huge fan of fried turkeys. My in-laws started doing this a few years back, and last year my husband and I (really only him) fried our own.

I used to have a love for corn pudding and now I have a hard time thinking about it. I try to watch what I eat most of the time (with the exception of my cravings for wings and chocolate) and I work out to combat those calories. Thanksgiving is rough, not just with butter and sugar filled foods, but that overwhelming desire to sleep after gobbling up a plate of turkey. Did you know on average, people gain 7 lbs. over the holidays? Doesn’t that number just sound crazy? I can tell when I gain a single pound, and seven sounds like a devastating number.

unnamed-10

Don’t worry, I’m not going to be passing up Thanksgiving dinner, but I am going to try to make healthy decisions leading up to it – and especially the day of, starting with my Shakeology for breakfast! No need to let it all go for one meal. And maybe I’ll only have two slices of pie… (PS – that pie above was baked with love by my chef of a husband!)

turkeytrot

And since this will be my first year not running an organized 5 or 8k in honor of turkey day, I think I might have to do my own. I’m getting towards the middle of my half marathon training at this point, and should be able to do 7.5 by Thanksgiving day. So, at my weight and pace, I’ll burn around 800 calories and carve out room for that pie.

What are your favorite foods to feast on at Thanksgiving (always looking for new recipes!!)? My father-in-law said he wants a sweet potato pie, so I’m going to try those out this week and see if I can make one that’s delicious enough to share!

Leave a Reply

