Weekend Wrap Up

On Friday, we said goodbye to our latest foster dog, Daisy. She was adopted and went to a home with a whole acre for her to play on. Even after she ate 50 pieces of Halloween candy, destroyed my bathroom trash and trash can, and tinkled on the carpet, I still managed to fall a little bit in love with her and tears flowed as she went with her furever family. I’m so glad we were able to help her and keep her until the right family came along!

blog1

We traveled to the triangle area to spend time with my in-laws over the weekend and to watch the Hokies play Duke. I was prepared for a brutally cold game, but instead was met with a sunny day with crisp air. I’ll take it!

blog4

We cheered loudly for our Hokies, not actually expecting the “W”, but somehow, by some miracle, we pulled it off by 1 point. These are the faces of four happy Virginia Tech fans!

blog2

Also, Wallace Wade stadium has it going on with its food choices: barbecue sandwiches, Greek Gyros, burritos, fajitas and nachos, turkey barbecue, pizza, hot dogs, Italian sausage, steak & cheese sandwiches…. I mean,  have you ever? There were so many options! The downfall was that they only took cash at most and who carries cash these days?

blog3

While Monday wasn’t part of the weekend, I thought I’d do a little plug for protecting your skin. I had an appointment with my dermatologist on Monday and came out breathing a sigh of relief as I do each year. I am terrified that I am going to end up with melanoma after my teenage years that were spent in tanning beds and many more years spent worshipping the sun on beaches. I now cover up with at least SPF 30 but more often than not, I use SPF 50. Your skin is your biggest organ and Chelsea will tell you, it’s not worth it. I am so glad to hear her latest results that there is no evidence of disease – but take it from her, not me…. the cutting, chemo and constant doctors visits? Not worth having bronze skin.

PS – New super awesome giveaways coming soon for all those who donate to the Bucket List project! The more you donate, the more chances you have to win! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

