Favorite Fall Foods

It looks like these gorgeous days with 70 degree weather are about to leave us, just as we Fall back an hour this weekend. So I’m prepared with warm (mostly healthy) foods that are full of fall flavor.

IMG_6376
For my bridal shower, guests were asked to fill out a recipe card for our adorable monogramed recipe box that my Aunt Joann got us. I love being able to try new recipes and customize them to my tastebuds – and it’s so nice to know that a dear friend or family member gave me one of their favorite recipes. Oh, and I say “my tastebuds” because my husband travels so there are lots of times he doesn’t get to enjoy the delicious meals I make (but I usually send him pictures!).

IMG_5856

My Pumpkin Pancakes that I blogged about earlier this month are definitely one of my favorite flavors this month. They are the right amount of sweet and super savory. I have considered adding in some nuts or chocolate chips but they’re so good as-is that I’m not really sure add-ins are needed. I definitely recommend whipping up a batch of these if you haven’t already!

IMG_6375

My grandfather used to make apple butter with his church every fall and give jars to everyone in the family. I always got two. I love spreading apple butter on biscuits or toast in the fall. This year, I want to try these apple butter cookies and see if they’re as good as they sound. I’m down to my last two jars of apple butter which makes me sad. We’re definitely using it sparingly. There’s something special about it being the apple butter that my Paw Paw made with his own two hands. I hate the thought of not having any more of it.

salmon

Soy lime Salmon and lime cilantro quinoa are another favorite meal. This is a 6 oz. piece of salmon pictured. 4 oz is actually a more appropriate proportion but I didn’t feel like having the guy cut 2 oz. off of it. I usually put a little oil or non-stick spray in the baking dish and preheat the oven to 375. I usually just dash light soy sauce (lower in sodium) on the fish, squeeze lime juice, and sprinkle garlic powder, Himalayan pink salt, and pepper. Bake for somewhere between 15-18 minutes depending on the thickness of your fish. Quinoa is a protein packed food. Usually you mix one cup quinoa to two cups water (depending on how many servings you are making). Bring the combination to a boil, lower heat and cover for 10-15 minutes until water is absorbed. Once you’ve lowered the heat, squeeze in some lime juice. I like to use fresh cilantro and mix it in right at the end. The flavors all work so well together!

IMG_5870

Chili is another amazing fall/winter dinner – and so easy! I love that I can make a big pot on Sunday and it lasts the week, making taking lunch to work or dinner when I don’t feel like cooking, super quick! I like to use light sodium beans, and as many kinds as I can find. This particular pot had white beans, light red and dark red kidney beans, and black beans. Be sure to drain all of the beans before tossing in the pot. Since I also L-O-V-E spicy food, I toss in a can of (drained) rotel. A large can of tomato sauce is also needed. I chop up a red onion and green pepper and toss those in. I use lean ground turkey or bison for the meat. You should brown the meat in a skillet before combining it with the other ingredients. I use pepper, red pepper flakes, chili powder, garlic powder and onion powder for spices – use to taste. Once you’ve got everything combined, cook on medium for 10 minutes or so and then simmer for an additional 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. I like to top mine with jalapenos and a spoonful of sour cream!

Zuppa Toscana is one of my FAVORITE soups (heavy and not healthy!) but I think I’ll hold off a few more weeks before making my first pot. I’d love to hear some of your favorite recipes and add them to my box! Please share in the comments. I promise to post pictures and reviews once I try them!
PS – there are only TWO days left to get in on the Tieks gift card giveaway! Enter NOW!

Leave a Reply

