My month as a (mostly) vegetarian!

For some reason, I decided I would be a vegetarian for the month of September. Probably not the smartest move since I had two full weeks of travel and events every weekend; but I obviously didn’t consider that when I made my decision. I did allow myself to have fish and shellfish – and I ended up having A LOT of it. I’m probably pumped full of mercury right now, and fiber from all the vegetables I had.

For breakfast, I mostly stuck with my vegan chocolate Shakeology. I have so much energy from these shakes – and I’ve totally stopped drinking coffee! A few times I had eggs or oatmeal for breakfast but that’s usually reserved for days when the hubs is home. Lunch was usually a salad or pasta (whole wheat, of course). I always had plenty of snacks on me like almonds or walnuts, fruit: blueberries, apples, bananas, scuppernongs, avocado, carrots & hummus, and greek yogurt with granola. Leftovers always serve as a delicious lunch, too, but I have always had a hard time re-heating fish so only when I had other food the night before did I take leftovers for lunch.

When I went to the conference, I had a veggie panini one day, pasta another and a veggie pizza from Wolfgang Puck Pizza Bar on the way out of Indianapolis. For dinner, I was able to get a little more creative (and spend a little more time). I had salmon, sea bass, garlic lime shrimp pasta, vegetarian lasagna, vegan potato salad, and veggies and quinoa for dinner when I made it at home. When we were out and about, I had tofu, eggplant tacos, scallops & shrimp, various types of fish, shrimp pho, a black bean quesadilla, more veggie pizza and veggie burgers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now, I say “mostly” vegetarian because I cheated a few times. The first was at an event where I had a piece of pork. I didn’t see vegetarian options, so I chose meat. Another night, I couldn’t get Mac’s wings out of my mind, so I grabbed 8 of them on the way home and devoured them. Last weekend, we hosted “Drinktoberfest” where we offered bratwursts, and I inhaled two of them. I probably could have avoided those 3 meals of meat but I didn’t. My husband laughs at me often about not having willpower (especially when it comes to Mac’s wings).

I’m okay introducing some meat back into my life but I think I’ll try like once or twice a week and do vegetarian meals the rest of the week. I feel a little better. Can’t say I’m any lighter but that probably has to do with all those guavaberry coladas in St. Martin and the Exact Target conference last week (it was open bar everywhere I turned).

10698395_10100995270566913_7925994004660409345_n

I think my next challenges will be no alcohol for a month and maybe a no sugar month. Sugar will be hard because I love dessert. I could probably just eat dessert for my meal. And I definitely eat it first when the option is there. I can avoid alcohol but it’s tough with all the weddings we have (I need a little liquid encouragement to dance).

Have you ever tried being vegan or vegetarian? What was your motivation? Did you miss meat / animal products?

Leave a Reply

