Growing together!

When we bought our new house, we walked around the backyard talking about where we would put our garden and we found the perfect spot, right in the sun and against our white picket fence.

DSC_0703

We could have probably planned a little more real-estate for said garden but it’s doing just fine for the zucchini, squash, cucumbers, tomatoes and herbs that we planted. We had also planted spinach since I go through about a pound a week but a rabbit dug it up and stole it. The whole plant. Gone.

It’s been so fun to come home in the afternoons (especially after a big rain) and see how much everything has grown. And secretly hoping that my tomatoes have ripened. There’s nothing better than a tomato straight from the garden.

This week, our squash and zucchini have grown tremendously and I was finally able to pick some.

And we were able to pick our first blackberry (actually we got the 2nd one, a bird stole the first one).

We’re not trying to live off the land or anything but we do enjoy having fresh veggies and fruit when we want; and I use our herbs almost every day for our meals, er, my meals since my husband is traveling and will see these photos at the same time as the rest of the world (and I will have devoured the squash and zucchini by the time he gets home).

A few more days before our tomatoes are ready, maybe even early next week. Several are about the size of my fist, and we have about 15 more that are growing by the day. I’m just so excited to have this many already growing – we didn’t have much luck at our old place, maybe getting 5 tomatoes all season.

And ta-da, our very first zucchini (first one I’ve ever grown!). The last picture is to give my husband an idea of the size.

I remember my grandfather building a garden plot for us when I was younger but contrary to the image growing up on a farm provides, I really have never been much of a “dig in the dirt” kind of girl. Now? I love it. We are already planning next year’s garden, but so very excited to enjoy this one THIS year.

Leave a Reply

