Happy 2014!

It’s hard to believe that 2013 is over (in 7 hours), and we’ll be on to 2014 and a whole new year of adventures and memories. This past year was one of the busiest years of our lives, but mostly in good ways. We were blessed with having the opportunity to go to grad school, take on new jobs, travel together and with our families, watch several of our friends get married, run 2 half marathons (well, that was all me), and of course, planning our wedding and of course, marrying the love of my life.

This was also the year that I lost my most favorite person in the world. I’m so grateful for the many times I got to see my Paw Paw this year and the talks we had, how he always lit up when I came to town and for all the hugs we shared, but I miss him and this year will always be marked by the year that he left us.

283144_801130102003_2121983_n 2

 

I traveled a lot this year. A lot of it was for work, but a lot of it was also for fun. By my count, I visited 9 states and 2 countries this year. One of my most memorable trips this year was my bachelorette party in Charleston and Folly Beach. For work, I visited Duluth and Alpharetta, Georgia (multiple times), Boston, MA, Knoxville, TN, Nashville, TN, Memphis, TN, Birmingham, AL, Jackson, MS, Tampa, FL, West Palm Beach, FL and Orlando, FL. Most of that travel was enjoyable (especially the food! I LOVE trying new food in new places *thanks, YELP!*), but my really enjoyable travel came with my other half. Together we visited Boston, Pittsburgh, Blacksburg (Go Hokies!), Tybee Island, GA, Savannah, St. Augustine, FL, Columbia, SC, Northern Virgina, Blowing Rock, NC, Wilmington, NC (+Wrightsville and Carolina Beaches) and of course, our favorite trip of the year was ARUBA!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Graduating from grad school was also a big part of this year. I was cramming in 3 classes a semester for my last 2 semesters (on top of planning a wedding, working full time and trying to train for my half marathons). I was busy but it was all worth it. Shortly after graduating, I took a job that required having a masters degree in Communication, and I was qualified. Now I’m rooting on my super-close-to-graduating husband as he finishes up his last 5 classes and prepares to take a new job (more to come on this hopefully in the near, near future).
943540_10100445916691483_1553453878_nAlthough we missed the annual beach trip with our Hokie friends, we got to see them so many times this year and loved every moment of it. On occasion we toss around the idea of wanting to live closer to DC where so many of our friends moved after college, but for the time being we’re content in the Carolinas.

In 2014, I’m looking forward to relaxing. To spending time with my husband and focusing on our marriage and our first full year of being married. I’m planning to be more patient and to let go of things out of my control. I’m planning to run more for health and be less competitive. I’m planning to shower two of my BFFs with love as they enter the year of their weddings and can’t wait to celebrate with them on their respective big days. I’m planning to read more, and Facebook less (except when I’m consulting and then social media is kind of a must). I’m planning to get back to my creative roots and paint, draw, write, read, and teach more, instead of letting my craft drawers be full and my creative juices dry up. I’m planning to travel all over with my favorite travel partner. While these are just a few of the things I plan on doing in 2014, there are many more, but they are not resolutions, they are all things I should be doing anyway.

Ashleigh_Landon11302013_0108Wishing everyone a magical NYE, and a happy New Year. Thanks so much for following along in 2013! xo

One thought on “Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

