Life after the wedding

I thought that life would slow down a bit after the wedding. You know, we’d get settled in, find places for all of our new things, get back in a routine, have some time to just relax… but that hasn’t happened yet. We have been just as busy as before – the Mr. is back in school, my work hours have gradually gotten longer (can’t complain since I love my new job), and our weekends are plum full of traveling, parties or events for which we previously bought tickets. I’m not complaining because I LOVE all of the things that we are doing as husband and wife, but I do wish we had longer in the evenings to go for runs together, or a weekend here and there to go hiking or sneak away to a cabin while the leaves are changing. So here’s a peak at post-wedding life:

halfmarathon2

Between football games in Blacksburg, work trips to Boston and birthday parties for all of our friend’s adorable children in Charlotte, I managed to run a half marathon with my friend Valerie.
DSC_0428I had to go to Atlanta for a work event, but before I left, I made my handsome husband’s favorite peanut butter cookies. (So easy: 1 cup sugar, 1 cup peanut butter, 1 egg. Mix, bake on 350 for 8-10 minutes). I also tucked some sweet notes in his lunch boxes that I packed in advance for him (good wife award!).
DSC_0445At the event in Atlanta, I met Walter Scheib, the former White House chef and now author and speaker. His stories about the Bush’s and Clinton’s were fascinating, hilarious and oh-so-interesting. It was a pleasure to work with him that evening and to taste his delicious creations. Can’t wait to put our new cook book to use!

1395824_10100627318101603_563393216_nWe did a 5k for Halloween in our Mr. & Mrs. Pacman costumes. Our first race as husband and wife and our first Mr. & Mrs. costume (beside the wedding day get-up!). Running is one of my favorite things to do with LW. He doesn’t love it as much as I do, and more so does it because he “should” for his health, but to me, it’s great, uninterrupted time together.

Apparently, you don’t actually get hours added back into your day when you’re done with wedding planning. So, we’ve found crockpot meals give us longer together in the evenings, walks at lunchtime give us a great afternoon break and if I can drag my sleepy butt out of bed early enough (he goes to work 2 hours before me), coffee together is a great way to start our day. We’re figuring out our new married life routine, and looking forward to Fall 2014 when he graduates, and the holidays when we can relax a little!

Leave a Reply

