Dairy & Dessert Free

For October, I have committed myself to going dairy and dessert free. The dairy is for health reasons (self-diagnosing a dairy allergy) and the dessert is for waist reasons. I am running my butt off these days (almost 26 miles last week) and not dropping a pound.

So, I made a deal with myself to cut out all dairy products for a month… and dessert. Chocolate milk (Horizons Organic) and ice cream are basically food groups for me, so those are probably the hardest two to say goodbye to. Dessert is another story in itself, because I LOVE chocolate. Milk chocolate, dark chocolate, white chocolate, chocolate cake, chocolate chip cookies, seriously ALL chocolate. So, it will be tough (and I might scream) but I think I can do it for 31 days. almond
I have stocked up on Almond Milk (not a dairy product) and am making great efforts to avoid the delicious cheeses housed in our cheese drawer. Jalapeno Mango? Habenero Honey? Honey Goat Cheese? It’s only a month. Only one little month.

Hopefully my breathing will improve this month and maybe I’ll even drop a few pounds (not trying to pack them on now just because we’re married!).

Last night I made shrimp creole for dinner and we had leftovers today for lunch. My sugar is coming in the form of a banana and a vanilla creme protein shake today. Yes, I actually started yesterday with the plan. They say it takes 21 days to create change – whether it be with eating habits, working out, or a new routine in your life. So hopefully by 10/21, I’ll be able to say that I’m no longer craving a Starbucks Chocolate Cake Pop after lunch or chocolate moose tracks ice cream after dinner (or delicious flourless chocolate tortes wherever we go!).

Here’s a helpful website with sugar-free recipes if anyone is interested in cutting all sugar out of their life (I will refrain from calling you crazy).

What favorite item have you successfully cut out of your life? Do you miss it now or even enjoy if you do have it now? Would love to hear from you!

One thought on “Dairy & Dessert Free

  1. […] Mix the honey in with the yogurt. Using a toothpick, dip the blueberry in the yogurt/honey combo and using a second toothpick, slide the blueberry onto wax paper. Repeat (with your entire carton of blueberries). Once you’re all done, put them in the freezer for 10-15 minutes. We’re excited to snack on these this week at work (can you tell I’m failing miserably at my no-dairy-no-dessert in October challenge?). […]

Leave a Reply

