The Day Before THE BIG DAY

On Friday before our wedding, I was a mess. I was running late for EVERYTHING and the fact that it was raining did not help. Rain in Charlotte equals stand-still traffic almost always. So I missed my eyelash appointment by 11 minutes. Ran into my dear friend Gean in Sephora and burst into tears. Did some shopping in an attempt to make myself feel better (sale at Lilly Pulitzer? yes, please!). Was then late to my nail appointment with two of my sweet bridesmaids – and forgot to take the polish color that I had chosen for us to wear. r0After manis and pedis, I rushed home to get ready for our rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. Rushing was the theme of my day.

We had exactly one hour given to us at The Dairy Barn to rehearse. While I was able to see some of the decorations (tables and flowers), the upstairs was not set up so we had to rehearse in a bare room. Oh, did I forget to mention that our wedding got moved inside? You see, the skies opened up on Friday and rained straight through Saturday. Our tables/chairs vendor gave me until 1 pm on Friday to make the final call. I called my husband-to-be at 12:55, sobbing, and asking what he thought. His response?

“I’ll marry you here or there. I’ll marry you anywhere! I’ll marry you on a bus or a train, I’ll even marry you in the pouring rain!”

After deciding not to put a tent over our guests and proceed with the outdoor wedding, I informed all of the vendors that it would be inside. My poor photographer got to listen to me cry twice when she called and we discussed pictures we would take inside. But anyway, I got all of this out of my system before the rehearsal and we had one hour to zoom through how the wedding would go. Pretty simple. The only thing I would do different is actually run through the vows (I recommend this!). On the day of, your mind is swimming with so many happy thoughts and you’re focusing on smiling, saying the right thing, not locking your legs that it’s helpful to know what’s coming and to have heard it before.
r7

After the rehearsal and some running around in The Dairy Barn to set up pictures/signs/chalkboards, we finally escaped to our rehearsal dinner at The Fish Market in Baxter. Not that there was ever a doubt in my mind about it, but it was DELICIOUS.

Afterwards, we went our separate ways (kinda, I forgot my running shoes at the house and had to go grab those!) to get some rest before the real big day. I had a slumber party with my MOH at the hotel we had chosen for our guests and LW stayed at the house with the doggies.
r12
A tiring, tearful, mess of a day turned into a wonderful evening. I kept telling myself to just let it out, and get it ALL out before Saturday. A friend told me of a bride she knew of who let it consume her on her wedding day that it was raining and changing her plans and she regretted it afterwards and I didn’t want that to be me. So on the day of, I was all smiles… despite the rain.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that I wore 2 different shoes to the rehearsal. One pewter Jack Rogers Sandal and one Silver Jack Rogers Sandal. Whoops!

One thought on “The Day Before THE BIG DAY

Leave a Reply

