The Day I Got Called “Bridezilla”

Last week, I was called “Bridezilla” for the first time in my wedding planning. I might have expected this early on when I made changes to our wedding party (and subsequently lost 3 “best friends” in the process), but not now. I’ve been told by other bridesmaids that I was being too nice and shouldn’t allow for so many opinions and options. When I think “Bridezilla”, I think of this email from a bride to her bridesmaids. This is extreme, and I can assure you, far from any emails that I have sent.

My emails have consisted of dress options, shoe options, hair/make-up options and asking who will be available during the day of the rehearsal for getting our nails done (my treat). I have also mentioned in them how excited I am to see each of these girls at the end of the month and how thankful I am for their relentless bachelorette party planning and shower planning. I consider myself lucky to be surrounded by these girls (and my incredible friend, Gean!).

Follow up emails/texts were sent regarding payment of dresses, shoes, etc, but not because I’m some crazy, controlling “bridezilla” – but instead because the payments were late or simply ignored. I would like to think that I’ve covered most of this list of things a cool bride would do. I let my bridesmaids choose their style of dress, I just chose the color and fabric. Find a deal on it? I say go for it! Shoes? I let them send options and offer opinions on the ones I found. We ended up with darling sandals for $25! I provided the option for having their hair and make up done, or doing it on their own. With 6 girls getting ready together, I think we’ll have plenty of hands to help with curls, do’s and make-up!

I’ve tried to limit my communication since I realize that everyone has their own things going on in life and I’ve made it clear that I don’t expect everyone to be at everything. I thought this list was pretty comprehensive of what a bride wants from her bridesmaids, the most important being communication. Again, I think I am lucky with the girls I have chosen to be a part of my wedding and I sincerely hope they don’t feel like I’m a “bridezilla.” At least I’m not requesting everyone do a cleanse before the bachelorette party!

What’s the craziest thing you have experienced a bride or bridesmaid doing during wedding planning? Would love to hear these stories in the comments!

Leave a Reply

