Bluesday Tuesday!

I’ve been racking my brain for what my “something blue” will be at my wedding. Initially, I thought I wanted monogrammed Jack Rogers but I decided against those. Then I thought maybe my husband-to-be would surprise me with one of the sapphire rings I’ve been pining over – but I think I’ve changed my mind on that as well. So last night… I found the MOST PERFECT “something blue” (and something monogrammed!) to incorporate into our wedding and remember forever. I can’t share now but I promise there will be lots of pictures and that you will ADORE it as much as I do!

Now… on this rainy Tuesday, I think we could all use some cheer. Happy to share the story of Pat & Stacy (with no E) – two of our dearest friends, and the most genuine and sweetest people on earth.

Pat & Stacy met on their birthday, yep, same birthday. Stacy & Pat actually got married a year before they had their wedding celebration, but sure enough, on their birthday, they had a beautiful ceremony at a neighborhood park shared with family and friends (and their adorable son, Gray). Stacy kindly shared her thoughts with me:

If you could do it all over again, would you choose the same time of year and venue?
Yes, absolutely.

What was the best thing about your venue?
The park was beautiful with a stone gazebo and reflecting pond, and having the reception at our house was awesome because it was a comfortable space, easy for everyone to get to, and close to hotels for out of town guestsPS2
What did you splurge on for your wedding that you just “had to have?”
A red carpet and velvet ropes/stanchions guiding people up the driveway to the reception.

What vendor was the best to work with, and why?
Our caterer (J&K Barbeque).  Very nice locally based fella who provides full service event catering.  Everything arrived on time and was delicious.

In 3 words or less, what was running through your head on your wedding day?
This is happening!

What was the best part of your wedding day?
Riding through the Elizabeth and Plaza Midwood neighborhoods on the back of scooter in my wedding dress.
PS3
How did you deal with stressors on/glitches in your big day?
My husband dealt with them.  I did get away with my brother for a little to have a beer at the Mexican restaurant by the house.

Tell us about your dress:
It was a Galina Tea Length Gown from David’s Bridal. I already had a different dress picked out online that I thought was no doubt ‘the one’ but when I tried it on at the store it looked like a bad Halloween costume. I knew I had to have a short dress to showcase my red shoes, and there aren’t too many options in that style, and the one I got looked too frilly on the rack, but I tried it on anyway. It was definitely not what I’d had in mind, but the second I looked in the mirror I knew it was PERFECT!
PS3

Favorite part of the ceremony?
Not falling down the stairs. Or maybe when my veil fell off as my dad was walking me down the aisle. Nope, it was getting to kiss my husband and proclaim our love in front of all our friends and family.

Favorite part of the reception?
Finding out what our first dance song was. My husband was in charge of picking it, and all the music at our reception, so it was a surprise to me! Also, enjoyed taking my heels off and putting my Chuck Taylors back on.
PS1
Did you incorporate any personal details into your big day?
From our 6 month old son as a tiny Groomsman dressed in a tiny tuxedo, to the scooter we drove away on, to the red and white checked tablecloths at the reception, almost everything was a personal detail with some sort of meaning to us.

Bar choices?
1 keg of Old Mecklenburg Brewery Copper, 1 keg of Yuengling and a few large jugs of red & white table wine, all served in black and red party cups. We also had washtubs full of Sundrop and Cheerwine, because it was mid-July in the South.

What was your first dance song?
Blue Jeans & White T-Shirts by Gaslight Anthem

Do you recommend having a videographer at the wedding?
We didn’t have one, I actually didn’t even think about it, but I suppose it would be fun to have seen a video later and to watch it all from another point of view.
PS5
Do you recommend having a planner/coordinator to future brides?
Yes, if you are not familiar with planning large events. I worked as an event/party planner, so it was second nature to me.

Did you have children at your wedding? Why or why not?
Yes, our son was 6 months old at the time and he was a Groomsman! Not everyone brought their kids (if they had some), but they were certainly welcome to! I can’t imagine having any of our family or friends miss out just because they are kids or have kids.

I love the genuine smiles and happiness radiating from these two in their pictures. Such a fun day they planned that definitely shows their personalities! They are truly a picture-perfect couple and I’m so glad I could share their beautiful day with you.

 

(Vendors// Food: J & K Barbeque // Photography: Meredith Jones Photography)

Leave a Reply

