Workout Wednesday!

You may remember, I posted a while back about my workout plans for 2013. And anyone who knows me, knows I love to work out (read: Run. I love to run). I’m really trying to incorporate weights and classes again this year so I can tone up before the wedding (and honeymoon!). I’ve been running as much as possible – mostly to stay on track for my half-marathon in March, and on Mondays I’ve been taking Group Power (similar to BodyPump), and this morning, I busted out my newest workout DVD. Okay, I may have purchased 2 DVDs… one  (Body Toners) at EarthFare when I was supposed to be getting food in case we got iced in and the other from Amazon (Wedding Workout). This morning, I tried the Women’s Health DVD.  workoutI had no clue what to expect when I hit play because I honestly just bought the DVD because it said “Wedding Workout.” I was pleasantly surprised when I was given the Strapless Dress or Short Dress workout options. AND then it gave options for DAILY workouts. How nice is that to have your whole week of workouts planned for you? I chose Thursday because I wanted the “upper body, core & cardio” workout, even though I opted out of the cardio. IMG_3960I thoroughly enjoyed this workout and think I could do it every morning. It’s nice to have that available when I’m traveling for work and taking 3 graduate classes this semester. I can get everything done before 7:30 AM and feel energized for the rest of the day.

Review of the Workout:

  • I liked that it incorporated moves I don’t typically do. This challenged me and made me feel like I was hitting new muscles and areas that I don’t normally focus on.
  • I loved that it had planks and push-ups. Using both weights and body weight in workouts is proven to be more effective, so I was a happy exerciser when these moves came up.
  • The abs part started with “standing abs” which again made me feel like I was doing something new and challenging new muscles. (I was already sore from my Monday abs workout so I can’t confirm if this had an effect).
  • Downfall: At one point it asked you to combine your weights in one hand. A) I don’t normally use 10 lb. weights but by combining both of my 5 lb. weights, that’s what I had to lift. B) I have tiny hands, so grabbing 2 dumbells is not an easy task. I would have preferred a screen telling you to have multiple weight options available – and I would recommend that to others.

Overall, I liked this workout. I recommend it for other brides-to-be and for people who just want to tone up (it does feel a bit like Spring out there today, eh?). I didn’t get much feedback last time I asked about your favorite workouts, but I would love to know if you’d be willing to try this one based on my review. Or if you have other favorites that you recommend? Or please share if you have another butt-busting method of getting in shape for the big day!

Leave a Reply

