MMM, MMM GOOD!

Y’all, it’s been a good week! We are still reeling from that spectacular engagement party last weekend, gifts were still trickling in this week (Kate Spade towels + glass mixing bowl set, LOVE!), our save-the-dates arrived last night and look AMAZING, we made a purchase today that is going to raise the level of fun at our wedding from a 12 to 15 (GET READY!), and on top of that – it might snow tonight! Doesn’t get much better than that!

But NEXT week, we are meeting with the caterer… whose name is Evelyn and I LOVE that because it was my grandma’s name. If I could have it my way, we’d bring in Mac’s BBQ for the reception, with chicken wings and fried pickles for appetizers and collards, mac & cheese and baked beans for sides – unfortunately, the deal they have worked out with the caterer works better if we use THEIR choice.Pinned Image
I knew this would be the part of deal when we signed our contract – and either way the food will be delicious, even if it isn’t Mac’s. We LOVE us some Southern food, and comfort foods too. I think our biggest decision will be between biscuits or cornbread. I actually see it as a blessing that they have a deal with a caterer, so that we don’t have to go out and search for our own. As much as I love food, and would enjoy food tastings, I am happy to clean anything off of my plate that will simultaneously remove stress.

We’ve had some really good food at weddings… carving stations, jumbo shrimp, and the 5-course wedding in Cleveland that we still talk about! I love food so much that I’d probably have them do one of everything if it wouldn’t cost a fortune!

More to come on the catering after our meeting, this will just be a walk through to see where things will be set up and what we’re envisioning. Food tasting to come next – yum! I would LOVE to hear what you all would pick for the perfect Southern food at a wedding reception! Ready… set… post!

Happy Thursday + fingers crossed for snow!

Leave a Reply

