A very merry 2012

2012 was a good year. Tomorrow we head to Chapel Hill to celebrate Christmas with my fiance’s family. We’ve already started the alternating schedule that so many couples do for the holidays. Next year, we’ll spend our first married Christmas with his family and visit mine either before or after. We’re going to ring in 2013 at an Avett Brothers concert in Greensboro, NC and enter the year that we are going to get MARRIED. Top 5 things that happened in 2012:

5. I ran 12 races in 12 (well, 11) months.

This was an accomplishment for me, considering I was deep in grad school all year as well. I also got a new 5k PR (Turkey Trot). We ran the Cooper River Bridge Run, I placed third in the Jekyll Island Turtle Crawl, I ran my first 8k, first 4-miler and first 5-miler. It was a good year for running. In 2013, I’m going to run my first 10-miler, my second 1/2 marathon and maybe a handful of other “long-distance” races to get in shape for MY WEDDING.

4th of July 4-Miler
4th of July 4-Miler

4. I paid off my first car

It was my first “big girl” purchase. I bought my Jeep the day I moved to Charlotte for my first job. Drove it off the lot. Packed up and moved. And in less than 4 years, I paid it off. It’s mine, all mine. And I still love it as much as the day I bought it.

3. I got promoted & I finished 3 more semesters of grad school 

In a very scary economy, and scary time full of lay-offs at work, I found out I was safe. And was being promoted. I am excited to go on this new journey with a very good company that I’ve been able to move up in over the past 5 years. My brother and my fiance work for the same company. We feel very blessed and thankful for this new opportunity.

Yes, THREE. I finished 7 classes this year. Whew! Stressful? Yes. But I am one semester away from graduating… from walking across that stage with my Masters of Arts in Communication. What will I do? I don’t know. I’m already in my career field, and moving up in it. But having that degree will only help me in life! (Also, my fiance started grad school this year – and made all A’s. So proud!).

2. I got a new nephew

On May 30, the sweetest little boy known to Earth was born and I love him so stinkin’ much. Seriously, he’s the happiest baby you’ll EVER meet. He’s the cutest little guy.

12242_10100321562682913_467172107_n

1. I GOT ENGAGED

I got engaged to my best friend on September 30, 2012. I could not be happier as we go about planning our big day.. and the rest of our lives. I am a very lucky girl to get to have this man by my side forever and ever.

DSC_0508

What’s the best thing that happened to you in 2012?

Leave a Reply

