Meet the Fockers

I spent this weekend with my soon-to-be in-laws. My fiance’s sweet parents and his brilliant sister who graduated from UNC-W this weekend with her Masters! Every time we are with them it is just delightful. Whether we are playing Apples-to-Apples, watching Bad Santa, hanging out with Will Ferrell or picking up sand dollars on the beach, it is always a wonderfully enjoyable time. (Not to mention his parents love food in the same way I do… so we eat, a lot!).

546787_10100298185530913_673317564_nI’ve heard so many horror stories about in-laws and especially the mother-in-law not getting along with the girl who is spending forever with her son, but that is in no way the case! I love, love, LOVE my soon-to-be mother-in-law. She is a wonderful woman, very admirable and sweet and perfectly Southern! I honestly could not have hand-picked a better woman to be my mother-in-law. Landon’s dad is also amazing, he’s incredibly smart, can always make me laugh and always makes a point to ask about my family, which makes me smile inside. Quite possibly the best part of this is that I also get a new sister (I already have one sister-in-law  in my brother’s wife).

Today, my newest soon-to-be sister-in-law and I had a private warm vinyasa yoga class in Wilmington. Seriously, we get along great. I can’t imagine him having a sister that was any more perfect! We love the same things, can share clothes, ran our first half marathon together and somehow always kick-ass when we’re on the same game team. I love her and I feel very lucky to be joining her family.

I love my family. I’m very passionate and protective of them (even though more than 48 hours with them usually results some sort of “I’m adopted” rant). I can’t wait to see them in just 9 days and hug my little cousins, spend yet another Christmas with the sweetest and best grandfather anyone could ever have and spend our first Christmas with my adorable nephew. I love that even after all these years, and after we’ve all grown up, we all still make our way back to our small town and have a huge Christmas breakfast together with 30+ people. I’m also very happy that just a few days after that, we’ll be spending Christmas in Fearrington with my fiance’s family for our very first engaged Christmas. yay!

One thought on “Meet the Fockers

Leave a Reply

