The Wedding Planner

I have been a bad blogger for the past few days and I’ll attribute that to 45+ pages of papers that had to be written for grad school and a reorganization at work that I somehow got a promotion out of when I wasn’t sure I’d even have a job. More details to come on this as I’m able to share but let’s just say a HUGE weight has been lifted off my shoulders and I am one very happy bride-to-be!

My “little cousin” as I call her, has dreamed of being Jennifer Lopez’s character from “The Wedding Planner.” I asked her if she would be willing to be our coordinator on the day of the wedding and also help me with some details along the way. Based on the fact that both her mom and my mom have told me she wants to get a headset for the big day, I’m going to assume she’s excited.

My “little cousin” is not actually little. She’s been towering over me for years (I’m short, she’s not a giant) … and she’s almost 25, which is a mere 2 years younger than me. I should probably stop calling her my “little cousin” but that’s what she’s always been to me. Plus if she’s still little, I can pretend I’m not almost 27 (ugh, late 20’s!).

We have spent loads of time together over the years, some of my favorite memories include playing Power Rangers and arguing over who was going to be Kimberly, the Pink Power Ranger. Going to the movies after Thanksgiving dinner and having sleep overs. The bird-cat-dog-owl-bug thing Halloween costume that my other cousin made for me one year that still brings Katie to tears when she thinks about it (there is no photographic evidence of this costume to be shared). Katie’s 21st birthday, which fell on Easter, and ended with us taking leftover casserole dishes to bed with us and a rude awakening the next morning when we were told to clean up our 3-am feast (You’re being disrepectful to the birthday princess – photo above). And of course, our cousin spring break trip to Cancun in 2008:
I love her SO, SO much and am so excited that someone who is super organized and designed to be a wedding planner, will be helping us with the details of our big day. While I somehow imagined her being a bridesmaid for my entire life, I think she’ll be the perfect helper. I also think we’ll be able to make some more hilarious memories to carry with us and share with our daughters one day. (Remember when I tried to pierce your ears with toenail clippers? Ouch. So sorry!)
Now… I just have to find a way to tell her that she doesn’t need a headset because she’s going solo on this mission and would only be talking to herself…

Leave a Reply

